Mt. Washington Temp.
Click pic for forecast.

...More Topics...

Get Firefox!

Backcountry ski and snowboard gear, camping

Donate towards my web hosting bill!

Made with CSS

Validated by W3C

View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Nov 13, 2019 4:07 pm

Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Noob Winter Hiking gear 
Mountaineer
Mountaineer

Noob Winter Hiking gear
Hello-

I have been hiking for the past 2 years and really want to go out in the White Mountains in the winter but will not go until I have all the proper gear. My first quest was to replace my summer water resistant hiking shoes with water proof boots. I have been researching different shoes and came up with a list. I was wondering if anyone can chime in on said boots if they have them or used them. FYI I am 6'4 245 and where about a size 12.

- Salomon Beluha WP LTR Winter Boots $150
- Salomon Snowtrip TS WP Winter Boots $125
- Columbia Titanium Bugaboot XTM Omni-Tech $129
- North Face Slot WP Winter Boots $129
- Sorel Conquest Boots $135
- Garmont Momentum Snow GTX $130

Anyone have some personal info other than the reviews I have been reading would be great.

Fri Jan 21, 2011 8:55 am
Peak Bagger
Peak Bagger

Garmont
I just got the Garmonts for women. I have only wore them around town as of yet. I havent had the chance to get up a trail yet. Tomorrow will be the day. I am happy with them so far. The only issue I see is some break in for the calf. The boot goes up higher which is great because I tend to run hot on the trail and this will enable me to not HAVE to wear a gaiter. Less is more for this girl!

Fri Jan 21, 2011 10:04 am
Leg Burner
Leg Burner

I have been looking at, but have not purchased yet, the Hi-Tech Yeti's. They come in 200, 400 and 600 gram insulation. The Garmonts look very nice.

-Bradford Angier-

Fri Jan 21, 2011 3:45 pm
Flatfoot
Flatfoot

Re: Noob Winter Hiking gear
[quote="RWills81"]Hello-