Mt. Washington Temp.
Click pic for forecast.

...More Topics...

Get Firefox!

Backcountry ski and snowboard gear, camping

Donate towards my web hosting bill!

Made with CSS

Validated by W3C

View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Aug 18, 2018 2:54 pm

Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
 Mummy vs. Traditional Sleeping bags. 
I Spend All My Time on This Forum

Mummy vs. Traditional Sleeping bags.
Hey folks, so whats the advantage of a Mummy style sleeping bag over the traditional rectangular bag? Im looking to get one soon and am not sure which is the one I want.
Any advice?
Brian

Mon Oct 24, 2005 5:10 pm

Hey Brian,
Hope all is well and unlike me you've had a chance to get out on the trails.

I'm not an expert, but I'll throw my .02 cents in. Not that it matters, I'm just hoping to boost my postings in order to see what the heck the next level is! :wink:

I have both a mummy style and rectangular. The rec. (which is a Coleman) is more for car camping or for the kids when they sleep over friends houses. I don't use one any longer for backpacking as I never seem to be able to keep warm.
The mummy styles appear to have better contruction and more versatile. They can go to lower temps while still staying reasonibly light.
I read Chris and Rob's review of the Wild Bill from Sierra Designs and purchased that one from Campmor ($80....and it was a great deal!). It compacts easily and fits inside an internal frame pack.
However, they make these with fiber or down so there's not as much cushion as the rec, so you really need to carry a pad for additional comfort(plus it helps insulate on cold trips).
If you can, I found REI to be very helpful about bags (and assume EMS will be the same), and I was able to get into a few before making the final decision on the SD.
Oh yeah, those rating systems are questionable. The SD says it's good to 15 or 25 but I doubt I would ever take it below freezing.