Mt. Washington Temp.
Click pic for forecast.

...More Topics...

Get Firefox!

Backcountry ski and snowboard gear, camping

Donate towards my web hosting bill!

Made with CSS

Validated by W3C

View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Nov 14, 2019 10:06 am

Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 Breaking up the Bonds 
Sovereign Woodsman

Breaking up the Bonds
Has anyone ever broken up the Bonds into two hikes, one from the south starting at Lincoln Woods to Bondcliff, and the other from the north starting at Zealand Road to Bond and West Bond? Both hikes would be about 18 miles round-trip.

This is an initial, not-well-thought-out, crazy idea based on the fact that:

1. I have no backpacking experience or gear.
2. I feel I'd be too rushed on a one day traverse.

I'd welcome any suggestions. I need to get them for my NH48 this summer, and it's going to be a challenge no matter how I do it. :?

Thanks...

Thu Apr 11, 2013 7:46 pm
Adept Ascender
Adept Ascender

I'll bet you a cup of coffee that by the time Summer gets here, you'll be ready to do the Bonds in one trip. :wink:

Thu Apr 11, 2013 7:55 pm
Sovereign Woodsman

Thanks for the vote of confidence! :)

Thu Apr 11, 2013 8:06 pm
Sovereign Woodsman

Why would you feel rushed doing the traverse (19.5 miles) but not two separate 18 mile hikes? Maybe you're thinking of the winter traverse which adds the extra mileage of Zealand Road? I'm sure people have done it the way you describe... I mean, hey, it's two hiking trips to one of the most spectacular areas in the Whites. When I did my Bonds trip (overnight at Guyot) we bumped into someone just doing an out-and-back to Bondcliff for the day.

I would say if you're uncomfortable with camping then you could always hike into Zealand Hut, then do an out-and-back to all 3 Bonds (and Zealand) and either stay a second night at the hut or hike the last 3 miles out. That seems to be a fairly popular way to do the Bonds as well.