Mt. Washington Temp.
Click pic for forecast.

...More Topics...

Get Firefox!

Backcountry ski and snowboard gear, camping

Donate towards my web hosting bill!

Made with CSS

Validated by W3C

View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Nov 22, 2019 1:15 am

Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 Finding What Parking Areas Allow Overnight Parking 
Flatfoot
Flatfoot

Finding What Parking Areas Allow Overnight Parking
Hello All!

I'm new to backpacking in NH. I just did my first four 4000 footers, and I'm officially an addict. I'm looking to plan future trips. My friend who is from the area told me that some parking areas allow overnight parking, while others do not. I was looking for some sort of index or guide online to let me know what parking areas allow overnight parking in the white mountains so that I can plan these trips in advance. However, I am unable to find where I can park overnight and where it is restricted. I don't want to head to a parking area to find that overnight parking is not allowed, and then have to replan my route! Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Sat Aug 08, 2015 9:30 pm
Hiking Forums Are My Crack

Re: Finding What Parking Areas Allow Overnight Parking
I'm sure there are some out there but I don't know of any offhand that don't allow overnight parking as long as you're not sleeping in the car. It's a pretty common thing for overnight trips to all the huts, shelters and tent sites and I'd guess if anything it's the few trail heads on private land like the Moosilauke Lodge area that would forbid it. On the National Forest parking areas I'd think you'd be fine.

Sat Aug 08, 2015 11:20 pm
Sovereign Woodsman

http://www.fs.usda.gov/Internet/FSE_DOC ... 363715.pdf

Here are the rules for back country camping for good measure if you aren't familiar with them.