Mt. Washington Temp.
Click pic for forecast.

...More Topics...

Get Firefox!

Backcountry ski and snowboard gear, camping

Donate towards my web hosting bill!

Made with CSS

Validated by W3C

View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Nov 18, 2019 7:35 am

Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 Most difficult trail? 
Flatfoot
Flatfoot

Most difficult trail?
I'm a newbie and was wondering what everyone's opinion on the most difficult trail in the White mountains is?

I have only done a handful but hands down would have to be the Six Husbands Trail. I believe it is on Jefferson but correct me if I am wrong.

Thu May 06, 2010 10:10 pm

I think most will agree....Huntington Ravine is the most difficult. Mostly due to the open exposure

This comes up as a topic every once in a while. 6 Husbands is always on that list but while I've done 9 of the 10, I still need to see what Huntington is all about before I put togetehr a top ten list
Wx, personal conditioning, timing, are all factors to the hike to consider too.
I absolutely loved North Tri Slide....had a killer day. But was beat to heck when I did Ball Crag.

Fri May 07, 2010 8:55 am
Leg Burner
Leg Burner

Define "difficult".

While being very exposed I wouldn't consider Huntington as the most difficult. There are several trails that while not excessively steep are real pains in the a** to hike. When finished you just feel very wiped out. The old Lawrence trail comes to mind, Mahoosuc notch, Desolation trail just to name a few. Some fun ones I've enjoyed are the Holt trail on Cardigan, The Subway/Kings Ravine, and Castle Ravine.

Fri May 07, 2010 10:52 am
Peak Bagger
Peak Bagger

bsinc1962 wrote:
Define "difficult".